Skip to content

Shaping Her

Shaping and empowering every woman to be the healthiest sexiest her.

I am having a good time taking a break from sugar. I have had a small amount. I went out for lunch with the girls today and had a couple of bites of the mini desserts that we passed around and I did go ahead and eat a chocolate chip cookie which, by the way, I think I have found the best recipe! Otherwise I haven’t had any sugar. It feels good. Any time I need a snack I head for a meat stick from our local butcher (the whole package costs less than 4 dollar). Babybel cheese is a good grab.
I don’t even want something sweet for breakfast. Eggs are great. Sausage is a good add on. The interesting thing is that I want protein and salt and fats, usually some butter or coconut butter is great as well. Heavy cream is a sweet treat in coffee, it is amazing how you don’t miss any kind of sugar. I normally don’t drink sugar in my coffee but have it on good authority that sugar-drinkers find that heavy cream curbs the sweet tooth.

Sugar releases happy hormones. It also gives you that “boost” you are looking for mid-day or in the evening when you are starting to feel droopy. It also means that you have dramatic ups and downs. When you leave out the sugar and you start eating satisfying foods your hormones, blood sugar and overall body and emotions feel on the level. Don’t believe me? Give it a try!

A good sweet for the season are apples! You can put them in some unsweetened greek yogurt with a dusting of cinnamon. You can add them to a saute pan with chunks of sausage and slices of apple. Try sauteing an apple with chunks of ham, add a few italian seasoning and put a little blue cheese on top, let it melt a bit.

What are you eating (or not) this fall?